Saving for the next generation

I was especially impressed by the recent letter in the Richmond Review titled “Developing the Garden City lands would be a huge loss for Richmond.” In a sincere personal way, the 18-year-old writer expressed what a lot of older citizens have wanted: that the Garden City lands will be a legacy passed on from one generation to the next.

Here is a little of what Emma Fisher had to say:

I’m 18, and I have lived within three blocks of the Garden City lands my entire life.

These wetlands house rare plant species and endangered birds and are an example of the beauty left in Richmond. The land is also an amazing example of how nature thrives despite what we do to our environment.

As a child growing up nearby, I learned from my father about the beautiful different species of birds, for which he was quite the enthusiast. When I have children of my own, I would love to bring them to one of the most beautiful places I’ve seen, and so close to home.

Thank you, Emma Fisher, for sharing your insights!

Leave a Reply

